A Busy Ship is a Happy Ship

Screenshot_0003

Patterson Dock, Uszaa System

I’ve got a rule that keeps me alive; I never dead head out of a system while there’s still viable business to attend to. This is because of my essential nature; left to my own devices, I’d just wander the starways until my fuel tank – or bank account – went dry.  So I always clear the Board before moving on.

The upshot is, that although I’m just three or so jumps away from my goal, Lave, I’m still bumming around Uszaa. The local lawlessness has upped the opportunities for sell-ships like me, keeping me zooming in and out of the landing docs like a lost spirit. The cash has been coming in, and upgrades, such as the best possible power distro box, have been purchased.

The good news is that I’ve been able to avoid missions to the hellhole that is Reidquat. The bad news is that Patterson has been crazy busy, between refugees and the brisk business going on in the merchant and mercenary fleets.

The interior of the big orbitals is usually laid out as three or four sequential rings of landing pads.  The ones right up against the entrance are actually not that popular, because you have to maneuver around like crazy to even find your designated pad, usually getting a fine for blocking the entrance. But the ones towards the back have their challenges, too, since the further back you go, the more traffic you have to avoid.

It’s not just the people inside the orbital you have to look out for. If you’re departing, there’s a whole bunch of unknowns on the other side of the airlock that might inadvertently clobber you on the way out.  For that reason, a sharp eye and active Radar are your friends. I always keep my hands on the thruster nib as I fly in and out of these things, because you never know when you might have to make an emergency strafe.

And my thanks to the idiots that can’t remember to turn off thrusters when they DO collide with you.  The paint job on Wild Heart is starting to like like a floral arrangement.

The routes between Leesti and Uszaa are especially profitable right now; it’s fairly easy to double up – or better – on missions that go in between the two, such as courier missions that float you a few hundred smackers to drop off a diplomatic pouch at some point in between.  It does require a bit of forethought and planning, but that’s a small price to pay for more than 10x operating expenses. Hells yeah, I’ll take it.

Leesti has one other thing that I will absolutely exploit once I make station at Lave.  There are at least two rare commodities that are within easy reach in that system. I think after I make stop at Lave, I’ll head to Leesti and pick up a couple of cans of whatever looks the best, and then pick a destination at least twenty jumps away that carries a rare commodity. Between the rares and nav data – assuming I can keep it this time – I should be able to get my Cobra after a couple of circuits.

I’m already considering names for my Cobra. In keeping with the name of my Sidewinder, I’m seriously considering Destiny Rules, Fire Burning, or Nightbird.  The middle one is currently on my mind.

This entry was posted in How we do things around here, In Space No One Can Hear You Yawn. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Busy Ship is a Happy Ship

  1. pepsidragon says:

    Hey I think I saw you parked in a station. I warned you about the dangers of Lave I believe. I can’t remember what system that was exactly. I think it might have been reorte. But Yeah Lave will be dangerous with all the Pirates with CODE and what not. So fly safe CMDR

    -CMDR PepsiDragon

    Like

    • grimmtooth says:

      Welp, somebody in the general Lave sector (ish) offered advice then fired on me after interdicting me out of Supercruise, but I didn’t remember the name. I figure if someone interdicts then fires on an uncommunicative scrub, it’s probably easily explained away as the cost of doing business.

      But, hey, if that was you, HOWDY. Small universe, eh? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

