Recovering

 

Jael Dock, Verner System

There’s an old addage, “Never sleep with someone crazier than yourself.” One of my ex-girlfriends shared that with me just before she came at me with a fusion spanner.  You would think that I’d remember that kind of lesson.  You would be wrong.

One of the great things about the Cobra classes is that they come with a little bunk enclave, meaning you don’t have to pay for on-station lodging if you don’t want to. That is also a down side, because it does tempt one to host a friend of copasetic gender, and that’s not always the best idea. When  you’re someone like me, it’s a good idea to look back on your past history of romantic entanglements and ask yourself, “do I want that person in an enclosed space that my life depends upon?” Sadly, I have a history of not listening to good ideas.

So, here I am, several months later, having spent several weeks in a hospital bed, and the rest of the time serving time for my part in a very bad first date.  But I’ve kept out of trouble, and there was enough cash in the account to keep Star Fury out of the pound, so I’ve finally gotten myself back into the cockpit and started to pick up the pieces of my life.

The good news is that, even though I’m no longer on track for some of the improvements I wanted ot make to Fury, I am also nowhere near wiped out. I wasn’t going to get my next upgrade until I had a million in the bank, and I was 100K short of that when things went to plaid, so take out hospital fees, fines, and dock rent for several months, and I still have funds to restock the galley and refuel the old bird.

Unfortunately, my entanglement managed to totally frag the control cluster in the cockpit when I managed to be better at ducking than she was at swinging. I’ve had it replaced with what parts where on hand, but everything’s in the wrong place, and getting used to the new controls has been difficult.  Fights I would usually walk away with are a challenge at this point, and in one case I managed to limp into the station at 3% hull integrity. I mean, hell, having rough sex inside the ship would have taken it the rest of the way at that point.

I also spent some of my funds on a new pair of shorts.

So, I’m taking it easy right now. Easing my way back into the swing of things, hoping the new controls grow on me at some point.  I’ve largely kept myself limited to low-risk ventures, and I’ve been farming that nav data like it was going out of style. I should have a good chunk of change waiting me at Aerial when I get there.

Unforunately, my past reputation did not go away when I lost that control cluster, and as a result I am constantly attracting the attention of the sort of attacker that I am not really up to handling any more. I’ve taken my share out, don’t get me wrong, but when a Master-level pirate drops you out of Supercruise without a second thought, it keeps you from napping in the cockpit.

New long term goal: I’ve spent some of my time in the, um, village perusing Cobra forums on GalNet, and am slowly piecing together a good loadout for my ship. Step two will be to map out what’s missing, then find out where said parts might be had, and hope none of them are restricted systems.  As I get deeper into Imperial space, I have my doubts on that one.

I’d prefer to  avoid any Imperial entanglements.

lpd-2016-04-14.png

This entry was posted in Bloody Pirates, Pieces Parts, Tradecraft. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

